Honorary Life Members

The Rules of Association allow the giving of ‘Honorary’ membership to members who have a distinguished history of contribution to ANCOLD. The current honorary members are listed below.

Robin Fell

Became an Honorary member in 2015.

Bruce Cole

BruceCole3The ANCOLD Secretariat moved from the Snowy to the Hydro in 1967 and in 1970 Bruce was appointed Treasurer and Bulletin Editor for three years. Over the years he has contributed 6 articles for the ANCOLD Bulletin and one ICOLD paper on the repair of Scotts Peak Dam. He attended the ICOLD Congress in Lausanne and the ICOLD Executive Meeting in Iguassu, Brazil. He helped to organise several ANCOLD conferences held in Tasmania. Bruce was a member of the working group that produced the first Guideline on Design Floods for Dams in 1986, and he convened the working group on concrete faced rockfill dams which delivered the guideline in 1991. In 1996 Tony Moulds invited Bruce, now retired, to assist in the Heritage Dams project, a combined Engineering Heritage and ANCOLD three-year project to identify those dams in Australia with highest heritage significance and get them listed on the Register of the National Estate. As well as the 25 nominations for listing, appropriate expert authors prepared historical overviews of the technical development of six different dam types. While this valuable material was placed on the national heritage database, it was not actually published. Bruce persuaded ANCOLD to let him put the material into two books. He edited “Dam Technology in Australia 1850-1999” and wrote “Australia’s 500 Large Dams, Conserving water on a dry continent” which ANCOLD published in 2000 and 2003 respectively.

Phillip Cummins

Became an Honorary member in 2014.

Len McDonald

lenLen worked continuously on dam design and dam safety evaluation for thirty eight years until his retirement in 2014.He has had a long association with ANCOLD from 1979 onwards, having attended thirty three ANCOLD conferences on dams.  Len was the secretary of ANCOLD for three years from 1992 to 1994 and assistant secretary for six years from 1998 to 2003.  He has served on a number of working groups preparing ANCOLD guidelines, most notably the guidelines on risk assessment.  From 1987 to 1993 he was a member of the group which produced the 1994 Guidelines on Risk Assessment.  He was then appointed the convenor of the second ANCOLD working group on risk assessment from 1995 to 2003.  That group’s work culminated in publication of the new ANCOLD Guidelines on Risk Assessment in October 2003.  He also represented ANCOLD on a number of ICOLD technical committees, his main involvement being with the ICOLD Committee on Dam Safety from 1998 to 2003 and on which he served as acting chairman for 2002 and 2003.  During that time Len was the lead author for the ICOLD Bulletin No. 130 Risk Assessment in Dam Safety Management – A Reconnaisance of Benefits, Methods and Current Applications published in 2005.Len was chairman of the NSW Dams Safety Committee from 1997 to 2009 where he acquired an international reputation for dam safety risk management in the regulatory context.  He was an invited speaker for the Workshop on Tolerable Risk held by the US Army Corps of Engineers, the US Bureau of Reclamation and the US Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in Alexandria, Virginia in March 2008.Len has been recognised for his work in dam safety and risk assessment, having been made honorary life member of ANCOLD in 2003 and named as one of the one hundred most influential engineers by Engineers Australia in 2006.

Keith Murley

Keith MurleyKeith Murley was born in Bendigo in 1929 and educated at Bendigo High School to the Matric level in 1945. He was awarded a Dafyyd Lewis Scholarship in 1946 to study Engineering at Melbourne University, graduating in 1949.Keith joined the Vic State Rivers & Water Supply Commission in Jan 1950 in the Irrigation and Drainage design section to work on the big expansion of irrigation in Victoria after WW2. He transferred to the Commissioners Department in 1951 as a Personal Technical Assistant to Chairman, L R East and held that to 1953, with a brief period in the field on the Big Eildon Dam Project, transferring back to Designs in 1953.During 1954 – 1955 on leave without pay to Europe, he attended an ICID Congress in North Africa & France on the way. Keith gained construction experience with Geo Wimpey in the UK, on factory buildings. During this time he attended a Hydraulic conference in Grenoble. Keith was advised to finish in the UK to accompany the SRWSC Chief Construction Engineer in 1955 on a study tour of dams & prestressed concrete in UK & Europe, including an ICOLD Congress in France, & then USA. Keith’s career then went forward to include;

  • Back to Irrigation & Drainage designs from 1955 to 1969, then to Dams Section from 1969 to 1971.
  • From 1971 – 1973 Senior Designing Engineer, Main Urban Branch. Designs & contracts for Urban systems. Then in 1973 back to Dams Design Section with involvement with ANCOLD.
  • Attended ICOLD Congress in Mexico in 1976 and after a study tour in USA following up on Dam Safety procedures.
  • Appointed Chief Designing Engineer in 1980, mainly dams but also irrigation & drainage works including co-ordination & support for field design team, AIDAB Bah Bolon Scheme, irrigation and flood protection project, North Sumatra with a visit to the site.
  • Active with ANCOLD & ICOLD for many years. Convener of the ANCOLD Committee which prepared the 1986 Guidelines on Design Floods for Dams, and subsequent revision. Attended ICOLD Meetings, Mexico -1976; Italy -1980; Holland & UK – 1984; Indonesia – 1986. Was ANCOLD representative on ICOLD Committee on Dams & Floods (from 1995 to July 2000).

In retirement Keith was appointed one of the two IEAust. Nominees on the NSW Dams Safety Committee in June 1989 and served on that Committee, with continuing ANCOLD and ICOLD involvements until retired in 2000. He was an invited Expert on Panels at the ICOLD Congress, San Francisco, 1988 and ICOLD Symposium on Dams & Extreme Floods, Granada, 1992.

John Phillips

Adrian Williams